How To Reset Windows 10 From Scratch (Like New)

Today we will see how you can restore your Windows 10 to leave it as newly installed. It is a handy feature if you know something is wrong with your Windows and you are not sure how to fix it. It is the equivalent of reinstalling Windows again, with the advantage that much of the process is automatic.

When you reset Windows 10, all the applications that you have installed will be deleted, but your Windows files and settings will be maintained if you specify it. It is a compelling option, but you must carry out with caution to avoid losing data.

Before resetting, check your applications

When you restore Windows 10, you can choose between whether you want to keep your files or settings or not, but in any case, all apps will be uninstalled. This can be a problem if you have a problem with a specific configuration that you would like to keep, a serial number that you need to save, etc.

Therefore, it is a good idea to spend ten minutes to review the applications you have installed on Windows and thought if they have something you need to save before it disappears. For example, a Word template or brushes for Photoshop.

Reset Your Windows 10

If you are determined to leave your Windows 10 as new, the first thing you need to do is open the start menu (by pressing the key on the keyboard or by clicking on the Windows logo) and then click on the icon to go to Windows Settings.

The configuration of Windows is subdivided into about thirteen subsections (for now). The one that interests us at this time is usually located at the end of the whole, with the name Update and Security. Click on it

In the section on the right, click Recovery (1) to open the options related to recovery and Windows startup. The one that interests us is the first one: Reset this PC. Press the Get Started button (2).

Now it’s your turn to make a decision: keep your files or not. It depends on you, although I recommend keeping the data because it is less frequent that they are the cause of Windows problems. Now, if for example, you are preparing the PC to change its owner, you are interested in deleting all the files.

In the next window, Windows gives you a summary of all the apps that are going to be uninstalled. The list includes the apps that you have not installed from the Microsoft store, but on your own (downloading your installer, etc.). It’s a kind of reminder that you’ll have to reinstall them again if you want when it’s over.

The moment of truth has arrived: there will be no more confirmations. This window warns you of everything that will happen in your Windows (applications will be uninstalled, the system configuration will be restored and Windows will be reinstalled). Press Reset to begin the restoration.

Now you only have to wait, and be patient because the process will last a few minutes and in the meantime, you will not be able to use the PC. When finished, you will be greeted by the Windows startup screen, which will now look like newly installed and, hopefully, faster and hassles free.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.